Skip to content

RSB Sour Cream Coffee Cake–Modified

June 7, 2016

IMG_9690Made this the other day with a couple of updates and felt like I should post it again! Since Abe mostly eats what we eat I’m experimenting with cutting some sugar and subbing some whole grains in to my baked goods–not all of them, and not all the time. I think cookies should sometimes just be cookies. But often I’ve found that they’re really just as good, if not sometimes better, with a little less sugar! This was one of those times.

NB: Abe didn’t have any of this. We’re not there yet, I’m trying to spare him a sugar addiction for a song as possible. But if I can keep cutting it down to a point I’m comfortable with, maybe soon. Plus, there wasn’t really any left for him. So, there’s that.

For the batter:

1.5 sticks butter (softened)
3/4 cup sugar (originally 1 cup. this was just the first time doing this with this recipe and I didn’t want to go too crazy. next time I’ll cut a bit more and see how it does and update)
2 eggs
2/3 cup sour cream
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour (changed from all-purpose, again, starting small, but will keep experimenting)

For the topping:

1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons white sugar
1/2 cup flour
4 tablespoons cold butter (2 oz, half a stick)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

And as an add-in: 9 oz fresh raspberries tossed with the zest of one lemon

Method:

For the batter: Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then beat in the eggs until smooth. Add vanilla, baking powder, baking soda, and salt (I tend to add all these right after the eggs, but you could also mix the dry ingredients in with the flour, that’s more standard)

Alternate adding the flour and the sour cream and mix until smooth.

For the topping (in a separate bowl): Mix the dry ingredients together and cut in the butter–you can use a pastry cutter to start the process but inevitably it’ll work better if you just get your hands in there! Keep working the butter into the dry ingredients you’ll eventually get a nice even texture out of it. It should clump when you press it together, but break apart easily.

Final steps:

Spread half the cake batter into the pan, and drop in half the raspberries, scattering them evenly over the top. Add maybe 1/3 of the topping, crumbling it among the raspberries. Repeat with a second layer: batter, then raspberries, then the rest of the topping. Be careful not to crumble your topping too small or it’ll all disappear and you won’t get those nice big coffee cake crumbs!

Bake at 350 degrees in an 8×11 pan which it filled to the brim for about 30-40 minutes until golden brown and a knife came out cleanly. This was DELICIOUS. We really did eat it all in like 2 days–the raspberries bake for long enough to become jammy and it all blends together really nicely.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jane Martinez permalink
    June 7, 2016 6:07 pm

    I love that you’re reducing the amount of sugar in the recipe! It’s something I always do myself. Even when I was a child I didn’t like anything too sweet. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

    Jane

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a comment