Skip to content

RSB Chocolate Crinkles

November 24, 2013

Happy Almost Thanksgiving!

In Cleveland, it’d be snowing. But here in Atlanta, today looked like this:

IMG_0296

Anyway, back to the point: at long last, I have conquered the recipe for the RSB Chocolate Crinkle cookie.

I’m not sure what took me so long. I just had a really difficult time with this one! Also–I had a perfectly good alternate version that I’d been using for a few years. So, maybe I was a little worried that I’d mess it up somehow… Disappoint myself and the few readers I have who look for such recipes…

In any case, here it is. Just in time for the holidays!

Ingredients: 

4 oz unsweetened chocolate

1/2 cup oil (I used canola oil, which is what I had. The recipe mentions soybean oil. I haven’t tried it with butter).

Just under 2 cups granulated sugar (1.94, if you want to be precise)

4 large eggs

1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 1/4 cup flour

How to:

Melt together the chocolate and oil until smooth.

Add sugar and mix well.

IMG_0265

Beat in eggs.

Add vanilla, baking powder, and salt.

Add flour and mix until incorporated.

IMG_0269

At this point–if you’d like to add an optional ingredient, such as mini chocolate chips  (or the chopped up andes candies I used for this batch…) go ahead and add those. The original recipe does NOT call for any additions. I was just in the mood for peppermint.

Now, this is SUPER important: this dough MUST chill in the fridge, for at least 2-3 hours, overnight is best.

IMG_0273

Before baking, roll lightly in powdered sugar, and press lightly onto baking pan (so that you can see finger marks).

IMG_0272

Bake at 350 until the edges start to firm up/dry out–these tend to bake a little longer than you think. Closer to 12 minutes than the 8 I usually aim for. But I’d test this out yourself depending on the size of cookie you  make…

IMG_0279

Enjoy! Oh, and be careful. You get powdered sugar all over yourself with these cookies.

IMG_0285

It’s worth it though.

No comments yet

Leave a comment