Skip to content

RSB pumpkin pie. and fall!

October 22, 2011

It’s definitely fall. Leaves are turning. The heat is on in my house. I even saw Teddy’s breath the other day on a walk. The tree across the street turned red very early, and I’ve been sad to see them fall, but the branches that are now appearing are actually kind of beautiful as well. Here’s hoping I can maintain that perspective for as long as possible…

In the spirit of the season, and in the midst of a desperate craving for comfort food, I decided to make pumpkin pie!

The main obstacle I faced with this recipe was the fact that the bakery version calls for “2 cans” of pumpkin. At first this seems easy enough. But the rest of the recipe calls for 12 cups of milk and 9 cups of evaporated milk.

Clearly these were not 2 standard sized cans of pumpkin.

By the way for some reason I keep spelling pumpkin with a ‘g’ at the end, like pumpking. So forgive me if I do that here… I’ll try to spell check.

Anyway. The only way I could shrink this recipe was to work with proportions, and improvise using other recipes as examples of the correct ratio of pumpkin to egg/milk. The resulting pie was DELICIOUS! I think this is definitely a recipe to stick with…

You’ll need:

2 cups of pumpkin

1 small can of evaporated milk (I think it was 6 fl oz? it came out to about 3/4 cup)

3/4 cup regular milk (so the total amount of liquid was 1.5 cups)

3 eggs (1/2 cup. my eggs were medium sized. adjust depending on the size of your eggs?)

1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, cloves, and salt

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/6 cup molasses

1/4 cup brown sugar

a little less than half a cup of white sugar (technically .42 cups)

I’d give you more detailed instructions here, but, to be quite honest, pumpkin pie is dead easy to make. You just throw everything in a bowl and mix it up. Generally I start with the pumpkin and eggs, and beat them with a whisk until incorporated. Then add the milk and do the same thing. Next add the molasses, and finally mix in all the dry ingredients.

It’ll be beautiful and orange.

And it will smell like Thanksgiving and home and fall.

It might even make your boyfriend start to act goofy. In this case: begin to arrange a photoshoot of your cat.

I mean, what else is there to do while a pumpkin pie is baking?

Personally. I ate dinner.

I wasn’t kidding about the comfort food craving. Roast chicken, mashed potatoes, and some squash.

Meanwhile, this continued:

I like that one because the black blob to the left is Teddy’s butt. He wasn’t thrilled about sharing his bed with the cat, but they made it work.

The pie baked at 475 for the first 15 minutes, then I lowered it to 400 (or thereabouts. my oven is bizarre) for about another half an hour, until the center of the custard set. If you jiggle your pie dish, the inside of the pie should stay firm. That’s when it’s done!

I may have also had some extra filling, and some extra dough. And made tiny pies by throwing circles of dough in a muffin tin and giving them a little filling. They were ready much faster, obviously, and were a delicious pie appetizer to the main event pie.

Amazing.

While the pie cooled, the photo shoot also came to an end. The cat got tired. Mostly because it had devolved into this:

Yes. That is an ipod cord. I’m not sure why that’s what he used. Perhaps because we have umpteen billion of them and it was handy.

And then there was pie.

Really, does one need anything else in life? Hope you have some pumpkin pie in your future as well!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran Hooper permalink
    October 22, 2011 3:34 pm

    Hi Lily — I’m Fran from Covesville and have a request for the RSB’s Morning Glory Muffins. My sister remembers them from when she was here and going to UVA and I’d love to be able to send her some for her birthday or Chirstmas.

    We made a surprise trip to England in Jan for our other sister’s birthday and fixed the Golden Egyptian Orange cake — it was superb!

    • October 22, 2011 8:59 pm

      Hi Fran! Unfortunately that’s not a recipe that’s in the book I have now (bran muffins and blueberry muffins, but not morning glory!), but I promise to do some research on them for you! Maybe my Dad can dig it up for me–or I’ll search around when I’m home for Thanksgiving. I’ll do my best! So glad the Golden Egyptian Orange cake worked for you, it can be tricky but it’s very much worth it!

      • Fran Hooper permalink
        October 22, 2011 9:42 pm

        Your Mom said she remembered seeing a recipe for them at some point in time. Hope it turns up — I’m curious about what makes them so super!!!

        Cheers

  2. November 16, 2013 8:42 pm

    That is the perfect blue plate and blue fork for the pumpkin pie! Makes me feel like it’s Thanksgiving already.

Trackbacks

  1. distractions from school « the life of
  2. pie crust horror story « The Baking Goddess
  3. RSB Quiche, and a little dessert… « Risingsunbakery's Blog
  4. The Definitive Pumpkin Pie | buckwheatn'grits

Leave a Reply

